2023-2024 Undergraduate Catalog

Bob Schieffer College of Communication

The role of communication in the 21st century is an integral part of TCU’s educational mission. Nearly 1,200 students in the Bob Schieffer College of Communication are pursuing degrees in journalism, strategic communication, communication studies, sports broadcasting, and film, television and digital media. The academic programs of the college exact an appropriate balance between professional training and liberal arts studies. Relatively small classes enable the faculty to give attention to the work of each student.

The college comprises four departments — the departments of Communication Studies, Film, Television and Digital Media, Journalism and Strategic Communication — and offers a range of study.

Department of Film, Television and Digital Media



Critical Studies

Sports Broadcasting

Department of Communication Studies

Organizational Communication

Interpersonal Communication

Public Speaking

Communication Theory and Research

Department of Journalism


Department of Strategic Communication

Strategic Communication


Integrated Communications

Public Relations


Bob Schieffer College of Communication Student Organizations

Fraternities and Sororities

Kappa Tau Alpha (Journalism Honor Society)

Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Studies National Honor Society)


Student Film Association

Professional Organizations

Society of Professional Journalists

American Advertising Federation

Public Relations Student Society of America