2023-2024 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Organization

TCU is composed of nine academic units, eight offering undergraduate and graduate degrees (see TCU Graduate Studies Catalog). The Roach Honors College offers non-degree courses for undergraduates only. The Burnett School of Medicine offers programs leading to an M.D. degree. All are the responsibility of the Provost/Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs.

While students normally concentrate their work in the school or college of their major, they may have classes in any. All undergraduates will have courses in AddRan College of Liberal Arts and the College of Science & Engineering, for a broad, liberal arts-based educational background in the humanities and the natural and social sciences.

Neeley School of Business

The Neeley School of Business prepares students to contribute to the professional world and the larger community through emphasis on a balanced curriculum. A unified program provides a solid knowledge base upon which students add principles of accounting, decision sciences, entrepreneurship, finance, management, marketing, information systems and supply chain management, as well as distinct competencies that allow them to lead in the business world.

Bob Schieffer College of Communication

The Bob Schieffer College of Communication combines liberal arts studies with professional training. Within the Department of Journalism, Department of Strategic Communication, Department of Communication Studies and Department of Film, Television and Digital Media, students learn to apply their classroom experiences. Located in the fifth largest media market in the United States, graduates find ample opportunity to develop their skills. Personal counseling and relatively small classes enable the faculty to give attention to the work of each student.

College of Education

The College of Education offers programs to prepare educational professionals—teachers, counselors and administrators who serve children from pre-school through college—their families and the broader field of education. Undergraduate programs prepare educational professionals in the following ways: through teacher education, educational studies, youth advocacy, and interdisciplinary inquiry.

Teacher Education programs prepare individuals for teacher certification in early childhood through grade six, as well as composite and academic subjects in middle and high school. These programs combine theory with intensive field-based practice and focus on effective teaching; solving instructional problems; resolving ethical issues; and making curricular decisions with emphases on urban schools, English as a second language and special education.

The Youth Advocacy and Educational Studies (YAES) program prepares individuals to serve in a variety of capacities in agencies, initiatives and programs that support the broader field of education beyond classroom walls. Educational course content focuses on educational theory, professional roles and ethical practice, curriculum and internships. YAES majors also specialize in 15 hours of undergraduate coursework taken in disciplines related to education.

Interdisciplinary Inquiry (IINQ) majors explore a problem or question beyond the confines of one particular discipline. Interdisciplinarity is an approach to studying and addressing issues and contexts in ways integrate multiple perspectives, theories, methodologies, and insights to construct more comprehensive and nuanced understandings. IINQ students combine disciplines in innovative ways that speak to their particular interests and aspirations upon graduation. Focus area courses taken each year towards the major are determined by the student and the IINQ program coordinator.

The college’s Educational Studies minor provides students with a broad understanding of the field of education, school systems, and human development. Students have the flexibility to choose from a number of education courses of interest to satisfy requirements for this minor.


College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts represents an integral part of TCU's educational history. The college includes the School of Music, the School for Classical & Contemporary Dance, and the School of Art; and the departments of Design, Fashion Merchandising and Theatre. These academic programs exact an appropriate balance between professional training and liberal arts studies. Small classes allow the faculty to give personal attention to the work of each student.

AddRan College of Liberal Arts

AddRan College of Liberal Arts is the center of TCU's well-developed tradition of emphasis on liberal arts. Courses in the humanities and social sciences form a major part of the core studies for all students. Degree programs within AddRan's 13 departments provide the solid liberal arts base needed for professional study toward the ministry, law, medicine, business, teaching or related fields. Some have a professional orientation within themselves, with specialized study leading toward specific career objectives. In all of the programs, students find flexibility and freedom balanced by structure and discipline.

Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences

The Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences unites Nursing, the School of Nurse Anesthesia, the Davies School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Kinesiology and Social Work into an integrated unit. Degree programs offered by the college build on a strong liberal arts foundation and prepare graduates for complex and varied professional settings. Many of the courses enable students to learn through experience as they encounter diverse disciplines, practitioners and clients.

College of Science & Engineering

The College of Science & Engineering provides an interdisciplinary program that bridges liberal arts studies with the technical skills the world demands. Composed of the departments of Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geological Sciences, Mathematics, Nutritional Sciences, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology and Ranch Management, the college offers the Bachelor of Science degree with majors in 20 fields of study and the Bachelor of Arts degree with majors in seven fields. The college also administers the Pre-Health Professions programs (pre-dentistry, pre-medicine, pre-veterinary medicine).  

John V. Roach Honors College

The John V. Roach Honors College seeks to support highly motivated students in their quest for intellectual, ethical, and personal growth. Through innovative courses and high-impact learning experiences, students from all majors are immersed in a culture of integrative learning that encourages ethical engagement and cultural humility in local and global communities. Students who complete all lower-and upper-division Honors requirements graduate as Honors Laureates and are recognized at a special ceremony prior to the University commencement.  

Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine

The Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine brings together the world’s best practices in medical education and the latest advances in technology to forge new boundaries in medical student education and training. This progressive approach to medical education creates and shapes empathetic scholars who are both adept at caring for patients, and able to meet the health care challenges of tomorrow.