2018-2019 Undergraduate Catalog

Neeley School Special Awards

The Neeley Heritage Scholarship. The Neeley Heritage Scholarship was established to honor the many contributions of Neeley alumni, faculty and staff, who have worked together over the years to create a premier business education experience. The Neeley Heritage Scholarship is used to recruit and reward outstanding students to the Neeley School, based on academic excellence and leadership potential or accomplishments. Students receiving a Neeley Heritage Scholarship must continue as business majors and maintain and academic and/or leadership record worthy of recognition.

Accounting. For students in accounting, the Accounting Excellence Award and the Education Foundation Scholarship of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants are awarded to outstanding undergraduate or Master of Accounting students. The Henry Key Award for Distinguished Service recognizes outstanding service to the Accounting Department and is granted each spring to outstanding graduating seniors. The Robin Elisa Boyer Memorial Scholarship and the Robert Schumacher Scholarship are awarded annually to seniors entering the Master of Accounting (MAc) Program. Seniors are also eligible for the Senior Accounting Scholar Award. Outstanding junior accounting majors may be granted the Junior Accounting Award or the Petroleum Accountants Society Award.

Entrepreneurial Management. The Department of Management, Entrepreneurship and Leadership presents several awards annually to outstanding entrepreneurial management majors. These include the Senior Scholar Award based on GPA; the Snell Leadership in Social Entrepreneurship Award; the Seth Hall Emerging Entrepreneur Award, for a student who has started a business while a student; the John Davis Entrepreneurial Vision Award, for a student who shows significant promise as an entrepreneur; the Entrepreneurial Leadership Award; and the Entrepreneurial Excellence in Management Award.

Information Systems and Supply Chain Management. The Department of Information Systems and Supply Chain Management presents awards to senior scholars in business information systems and supply and value chain management. In addition, the Business Information Systems (BIS) Program grants awards to outstanding BIS majors. These awards include the Accenture Business Information Systems Professors’ Award; Mary Kay, Inc. Technology Award; The InSource Group’s Outstanding Student Award; and the Society for Information Management Scholarship Awards.

Awards in the area of supply and value chain management include the Supply and Value Chain Professors’ Award, Supply and Value Chain Center Outstanding Student Award, CSCMP Annual Conference Scholarship Award, and Fort Worth Institute for Supply Management Scholarship Award.

Marketing. The Department of Marketing grants eight awards annually to outstanding students: Marketing Senior Scholar Award (highest GPA), Outstanding Marketing Student Award (best overall marketing student), Sales Management Award, the Earl Dyess Award, the International Marketing Scholar Award, the DSS Research Marketing Research Award (to a student with a strong interest in marketing research) and the Department of Marketing Excellence Award (student contribution to the field of marketing). Additionally, the TCU chapter of the American Marketing Association sponsors an award for students who demonstrate marketing leadership skills.

Finance. The Department of Finance presents several awards annually to outstanding finance majors, including The Wall Street Journal Achievement Award to a senior who demonstrates an uncommon aptitude in investments. The Fort Worth Mortgage Bankers Association Award goes to a senior pursuing a career in real estate. The Outstanding Educational Investment Fund Student Award recognizes outstanding service and performance as a student member of the Educational Investment Fund during the past academic year. The Finance High Achievement Award is presented to a finance student, and the Senior Scholar Award is presented to a senior finance major for academic excellence. Other awards: the Meridian Bank of Texas Scholar Award, to a TCU Real Estate Club member who exemplifies scholarship, leadership and dedication to the organization; the David B. Hendricks II Memorial Scholarship, to an outstanding finance major with an emphasis in real estate; the Lockheed Martin TCU FMA Award, to an FMA member who exemplifies scholarship and commitment to the mission of the TCU Financial Management Association; Luther King Capital Management Center for Financial Studies scholarships, to junior finance majors for exemplary academic performance, community service and excellent character; the Meredith Fraker Thompson Memorial Scholarship in Finance, to two junior finance majors for academic excellence; and internship opportunities with LKCM and Simmons & Company.

Awards given by student groups include the Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key.