2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog

Political Science

Political science is available as a major and a minor on both the BA and BS degrees. The Department of Political Science offers students for course concentration in the following seven sub-fields:

  • American Politics
  • Political Theory
  • International Politics
  • Comparative Politics
  • Public Law
  • Research Methods
  • Public Affairs Internships
Honors College

Political science majors who plan to pursue Departmental Honors must be members of the Honors College and should enroll in POSC 30003their junior year and POSC 40003 during the fall semester of their senior year.

Political Science Honor Society

The department sponsors the Beta Lambda Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, national honor society in political science. Membership requires completion of a minimum of 10 semester hours of political science (at least 6 in regular classroom courses on TCU’s campus and at least 3 advanced, i.e., 30000 level or above), at least a 3.0 GPA in political science courses and at least a 3.5 GPA overall. Applicants need not be a political science major or minor. Washington Internship Program

TCU is affiliated with the Washington Center, which provides placements, supervision and housing for students who seek a professional experience in a public or private organization in the nation's capital. Students selected for the program must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and must return to TCU for at least one semester after the internship. Students apply each fall, a year in advance of their internship, and must attend a non-credit preparatory seminar in the spring. Up to 15 hours of credit may be earned through this program, which is multidisciplinary and available to students in any major field.