2018-2019 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Organization

TCU is composed of eight academic units offering undergraduate bachelor's degrees in 101 majors. These colleges and schools also offer graduate degrees (see TCU Graduate Studies Catalog). In addition, students can earn certificates in University programs in ranch management or take a full range of non-credit courses through the Office of Extended Education.

While students normally concentrate their work in the school or college of their major field, they may have classes in any or all. All undergraduates will have courses in AddRan College of Liberal Arts and the College of Science & Engineering, for a broad, liberal arts-based educational background in the humanities and the natural and social sciences.

Neeley School of Business

The Neeley School of Business prepares students to contribute to the professional world and the larger community through emphasis on a balanced curriculum. A unified program provides a solid knowledge base upon which students add principles of accounting, decision sciences, entrepreneurship, finance, management, marketing, information systems and supply chain management, as well as distinct competencies that allow them to lead in the business world.

Bob Schieffer College of Communication

The Bob Schieffer College of Communication combines liberal arts studies with professional training. Within the Department of Journalism, Department of Strategic Communication, Department of Communication Studies and Department of Film, Television, and Digital Media, students learn to apply their classroom experiences. Located in the eighth largest media market in the United States, graduates find ample opportunity to develop their skills. Personal counseling and relatively small classes enable the faculty to give attention to the work of each student.

College of Education

The College of Education offers programs to preparing educational professional,teachers, counselors and administrators who serve children from pre-school through college, their families and the broader field of education. Undergraduate programs prepare educational professionals in two ways: through Teacher Education and Youth Advocacy.

Teacher Education programs prepare individuals for teacher certification in early childhood through grade six, composite and academic subjects in middle and high school, along with an educational studies minor. These programs combine theory with intensive field-based practice and focus on effective teaching; solving instructional problems; resolving ethical issues; and making curricular decisions with emphases on urban schools, English as a second language and special education.

The Youth Advocacy and Educational Studies (YAES) program prepares individuals to serve in a variety of capacities in agencies, initiatives and programs that support the broader field of education beyond classroom walls. Educational course content focuses on educational theory, professional roles and ethical practice, curriculum and internship. YAES majors also specialize in 15 hours of undergraduate coursework taken in disciplines related to education.

College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts represents an integral part of TCU's educational history. The college houses the School of Music, the School for Classical and Contemporary Dance, and the School of Art; Department of Graphic Design, Interior Design and Fashion Merchandising; and Theatre. These academic programs exact an appropriate balance between professional training and liberal arts studies. Small classes allow the faculty to give personal attention to the work of each student.

AddRan College of Liberal Arts

AddRan College of Liberal Arts is the center of TCU's well-developed tradition of emphasis on liberal arts. Courses in the humanities and social sciences form a major part of the core studies for all students. Degree programs within AddRan's 11 departments provide the solid liberal arts base needed for professional study toward the ministry, law, medicine, business, teaching or related fields. Some have a professional orientation within themselves, with specialized study leading toward specific career objectives. In all of the programs, students find flexibility and freedom balanced by structure and discipline.

Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences

The Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences unites Nursing, the School of Nurse Anesthesia, the Davies School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Kinesiology and Social Work into an integrated unit. Degree programs offered by the college build on a strong liberal arts foundation and prepare graduates for complex and varied professional settings. Many of the courses enable students to learn through experience as they encounter diverse disciplines, practitioners and clients.

College of Science & Engineering

The College of Science & Engineering provides an interdisciplinary program that bridges liberal arts studies with the technical skills the world demands. Composed of the departments of Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geology, Mathematics, Nutritional Sciences, Physics & Astronomy, and Psychology, the college offers the Bachelor of Science degree with majors in 18 fields of study and the Bachelor of Arts degree with majors in seven fields. The college also administers and Pre-Health Professions programs (pre-dentistry, pre-medicine, pre-veterinary medicine).

John V. Roach Honors College

Dedicated to enriching the intellectual life of TCU, the John V. Roach Honors College is a community of academic excellence where highly motivated students explore the complexities of knowledge through innovative courses and high-impact learning experiences such as study abroad, interdisciplinary inquiry, and undergraduate research. . Through collaboration with all schools and colleges of the University, the Honors College provides opportunities for intellectual growth and enrichment to students in all disciplines. Students who complete all lower- and upper-division Honors requirements graduate as a John V. Roach Honors Laureate and are recognized at a special ceremony prior to the University commencement.

University Programs

Certificates in ranch management and women and gender studies, BS in ranch management and women and gender studies, BA in women and gender studies, minors in ranch management and women and gender studies, intensive English and classes at all levels.

Office of Extended Education

The mission of the Office of Extended Education is to engage the University with the community through high-quality non-credit courses, programs, conferences and other offerings that seek to educate, enlighten, renew and serve. Non-degree admissions, portfolio assessment, community courses, certificate programs, professional education workshops and selected summer institutes are coordinated through this office.