2017-2018 Graduate Catalog


Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2017
Registration Friday, August 18
First classes meet, 8 a.m. Monday, August 21
Last day for late registration, changing or adding courses Friday, August 25
Last day for semester-fee students (only) to drop below 12 hours and receive partial-tuition refund Friday, August 25
Labor Day Recess Monday, September 4
Last day to withdraw from class and receive:
100% tuition refund Friday, August 25
75% tuition refund Friday, September 1
50% tuition refund Monday, September 11
25% tuition refund (no refunds after this date) Monday, September 18
Mid-semester reports of unsatisfactory work due in the Office of the Registrar, 9 a.m Wednesday, October 11
Fall Recess
Classes recess, 10 p.m. Friday, October 13
Classes resume, 8 a.m. Wednesday, October 18
 Last day to remove "I" grade from prior long semester
Thursday, October 19
Last day students may withdraw from a class Monday, November 10
Last day for electing Pass/No-Credit grading option Tuesday, November 13
Schedule advising for spring semester Monday-Friday, October 23- November 10
Advance registration for spring semester Monday-Friday, November 6-10
  Monday-Friday, November 13-17
  Monday-Tuesday, November 20-21
Thanksgiving Recess  
Classes recess, 5 p.m. Tuesday, November 21
Classes resume, 8 a.m. Monday, November 24
Last day of classes Wednesday, December 6
Study days Thursday-Friday, December 7-8
Final examinations Monday-Friday, December 11-15
Baccalaureate and Commencement Saturday, December 16
Residence halls close Saturday, December 16
Spring Semester 2018
Registration Friday, January 12
First classes meet, 8 a.m. Tuesday, January 16
Last day for late registration, changing or adding courses  Monday, January 22
Last day for semester-fee students (only) to drop below 12 hours and receive partial-tuition refund Monday, January 22
Martin Luther King Jr., holiday  Monday, January 15
Last day to withdraw from class and receive:
100% tuition refund Monday, January 22
75% tuition refund Monday, January 29
50% tuition refund Monday, February 5
25% tuition refund (No refunds after this date) Monday, February 12
Mid-semester reports of unsatisfactory work due in the Office of the Registrar, 9 a.m. Wednesday, March 7
Spring Recess
Classes recess, 10 p.m. Friday, March 9
Classes resume, 8 a.m. Monday, March 19
Last day to remove “I” grade from prior long semester Friday, March 16
Good Friday Recess  
Classes recess, 10 p.m. Thursday, March 29
Classes resume, 8 a.m. Monday, April 2
Schedule advising for summer session and fall semester Monday-Friday, March 26-April 6
Advance registration for fall semester Monday-Friday, April 2-April 13
Last day students may withdraw from a class Monday, April 9
Last day for electing Pass/No-Credit grading option Tuesday, April 10
Last day of classes Wednesday, May 2
Study days Thursday-Friday, May 3-4
Final examinations Monday-Friday, May 7-11
Baccalaureate and Commencement Saturday, May 12
Residence halls close Saturday, May 12
Summer Semester 2018
May (three week) and eight week sessions begin Monday, May 14
Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 28
May (three week) session ends Friday, June 1
June (five-week) session begins Monday, June 4
Independence Day holiday Wednesday, July 4
June (five-week) session ends Friday, July 6
July (four-week) session begins Monday, July 9
July (four-week) session ends Friday, August 3