2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog

Aerospace Studies

The U.S. Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) provides women and men at Texas Christian University, Texas Wesleyan University, Dallas Baptist University, Tarleton State University, the University of Texas at Arlington, Weatherford College and Tarrant County College the education and training necessary to develop the management and leadership skills vital to professional Air Force officers.

Enrollment in the General Military Course (first two years) is voluntary for eligible students and does not obligate non-scholarship students for further military service. The Professional Officer Course (last two years) is also voluntary but competitive. Because the Professional Officer Course leads to a commission in the U.S. Air Force, those selected to continue training will incur military obligation.

Aerospace studies courses are taken concurrently with other degree programs. No degree is offered in aerospace studies, but up to 24 semester hours may be earned in aerospace studies over the four-year period. Some of the classes may be used to meet major elective requirements; students should see their academic adviser for confirmation. Students who enroll in aerospace studies classes and intend to commission must attend both classroom and leadership laboratory classes at TCU. The laboratory classes give students first-hand experience in developing leadership and organizational skills while preparing them for enrollment in the Professional Officer Course.

Aerospace Studies Program Requirements

Four-Year Program

This program enables students to take advantage of four years of aerospace studies courses. Each semester, for the first two years, cadets take a one-credit hour academic class and a one-credit hour Pass/No-Credit Leadership Laboratory (LLab). The first two years collectively are referred to as the General Military Course (GMC). Upon successful completion of the GMC and an ensuing four-week Air Force paid field training course, qualified and selected students may elect to enroll in the final two years, referred to as the Professional Officer Course (POC). Each semester in the POC, students take a three-credit hour academic class and a one-credit hour Pass/No-Credit LLab. AFROTC uniforms and textbooks are issued by the unit.

More detailed information about the Air Force ROTC Program is available through the Department of Aerospace Studies. The department is located in office 247 of the Rickel Academic Wing. Call 817.257.7461 or visit www.afrotc.tcu.edu with questions.

Aerospace Studies General Qualifications

A student enrolling in AFROTC must:

  • Be a full-time student (12 semester hours or more)
  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Be in good physical condition/health
  • Have good moral character
  • Be no older than 39 years upon commissioning

AFROTC Program Benefits

As Air Force ROTC cadets, students are entitled to selective benefits. Social and co-curricular activities, together with leadership and academic training, are all part of Air Force ROTC. Contracted cadets receive a nontaxable subsistence allowance each month during the school year. The detachment sponsors a Civil Air Patrol where cadets can obtain front-seat and back-seat flying time in Cessna aircraft. Honor guard and Arnold Air Honor Society are just a few social outlets for the cadets. Summer opportunities for cadets can include a paid visit to a military installation for two weeks, freefall parachuting, combat survival training, flight nurse shadowing and cadet training assistant duty at field training.

AFROTC Scholarships

Air Force ROTC offers scholarships that vary in length of award and amount based on academic major and applicant qualifications. All awarded scholarships pay a stipend for textbooks and fees, plus a monthly, nontaxable, stipend during the school year. Scholarship awards are based on specific academic majors related to the needs of the U.S. Air Force. These scholarship opportunities for in-college students are determined at the national level by Air Force ROTC and are subsequently administered by the detachment/Department of Aerospace Studies. Scholarship applicants are selected using the whole-person concept, which includes objective factors (i.e., GPA, standardized test scores (SAT/ACT), and physical fitness test) and subjective factors (i.e., personal evaluations). Students who are enrolled in Air Force ROTC generally improve their scholarship selection opportunity.

In addition to meeting the general qualifications mentioned above, scholarship applicants must be at least 17 years of age when the scholarship is activated and must be less than 31 years of age as of the end of their commissioning year. Because the scholarship program varies according to budget and needs of the Air Force, interested applicants should contact the Department of Aerospace Studies at 817.257.7461 or www.afrotc.tcu.edu for specifics.

High school students may apply for a four-year scholarship their high school senior year. High school students who are offered an AFROTC scholarship may be offered a TCU room and board subsidy. High school students who receive a three-year scholarship may also receive an additional semester of tuition paid if attending TCU.

AFROTC Commissioning

Upon successful completion of the AFROTC Program and baccalaureate or graduate degree, a student is commissioned a second lieutenant in the U.S. Air Force. In some instances, active service can be delayed by students continuing in post-baccalaureate degree programs.